On that latter point, we’re here to walk through face creams and moisturizers. It’s a category with lots of variety depending on your personal preferences and skin type needs. Some folks love dense, rich textures—while others prefer light-as-air and fast-absorbing formulas. Some people may have oily- or acne-prone skin, so they need appropriate actives to combat inflammation or oil production. And others deal with irritation and want gentle ingredients to soothe reactive skin. So before you make a new face cream purchase, be mindful of what exactly your parameters are: A good face moisturizer can do wonders for the health of your skin but only if it addresses your unique complexion. Think about the product texture, price point, your specific concerns, lifestyle, and ultimate skin goals—then dive into the list below. What the mbg beauty team says: Users and editors alike are impressed by how this cream plays double duty: It feels airy yet provides sustained hydration. As assistant beauty editor Hannah Frye wrote about this combination skin-friendly cream, “While something lightweight may be your best bet for managing an oily complexion, you should opt for something deeply hydrating too. The beauty of this water cream is that it does both: While the consistency is lightweight, your skin will be drinking up essential nutrients. Tatcha’s signature Hadasei-3 Complex includes a trio of antioxidant-rich Japanese superfoods that work in combination to detoxify the skin and replenish essential moisture.” Or as mbg’s beauty editor Jamie Schneider says, “I can’t count how many Tatcha Water Creams I’ve emptied over the years—and each time, I’m scraping the sides of the jar to get just another ounce of this liquid gold. It’s lightweight yet deeply hydrating, so it doesn’t just create a greasy film on top of your skin (a pet peeve I have with most water creams).” What mbg’s beauty director says:  This cream makes for an excellent nighttime moisturizer, as it traps in hydration and helps your skin wake up dewy. Whenever I use it, I can’t believe how soft and supple my skin looks the morning after. I actually look refreshed, which is nothing short of a miracle. Reviewers agree, as one wrote in: “You won’t regret buying this cream. I love this product, it’s thick but doesn’t feel thick on the face and makes my face glow the next day.” What mbg’s beauty team says: I’ve written a whole love letter to this face cream (read it here), so you know I love it. I started using it right when I hit 30, and it couldn’t have come at a better time: It feeds my dry skin nutrients, comforts my many skin sensitivities, and helps me proactively deal with fine lines. I’m not the only fan; Schnieder loves it too: “This cream is pure luxury. White truffle contains fatty acids and enzymes that make your skin feel just plain rich—plus, it just sounds fancy. My only callout: The consistency is thick. I have the combination skin version, and I prefer to use it as a night cream with a lighter moisturizer during the day.” What reviewers say: About 93% of users would recommend it to a friend, including this reviewer who wrote, “I have normal-dry skin and live in a high elevation and dry climate, and this has been nice to use morning and night. I think it’s better as a morning/daily moisturizer (I prefer a little heavier moisturizer at night). Overall, it’s lightweight and creamy, absorbs quickly, and leaves my skin looking and feeling moisturized.” What users say: This sunscreen made a splash when it hit the market, as one user wrote, “I love this sunscreen! It doesn’t have that overpowering sunscreen smell and absorbs well when I don’t use any products immediately prior. If your skin is dewy from other products prior to applying the sunscreen, it WILL pill.” What users say: Not only do reviewers like the skin care benefits, but they align with their personal values and mission: “This is by far my favorite facial moisturizer ever. Nice and thick and absorbs quickly. I normally buy unscented products, but this has a very pleasant and light smell that I do not mind. The price is amazing for the quality and I am in love with this company’s mission. Buying products from a company that is socially and environmentally responsible is very important to me.” What users say:  The brand has a devoted following for a reason—the products prove effective. Customers rave about this cream, including this user who says, “I have tried so many different high end facial moisturizers and this one is so great. Dr. Sturm’s products have transformed my skin. I would recommend this to anyone.” What users say: It receives high praise from folks with oily skin, like this multi-time purchaser: “I have purchased MANY moisturizers marketed as oil-free/oil controlling, but this is the only one that I have re-purchased multiple times, and that I would recommend. I use it daily and have never experienced any breakouts. The ‘scent’ is very mild and pleasant. It is not a thick, super moisturizing cream, which is great for us oily girls, but if you have dry skin this is not for you!” What mbg’s assistant beauty editor says:  You can have acne-prone and thirsty skin at the same time. In fact, it’s quite common! And for those folks, Frye notes this will work well in your routine, “For people that have acne-prone skin but still crave deep hydration—this one’s for you. While the classic barrier cream may be a cult favorite, I love this acne-safe version even more. The hydration will last you all day long even on dry winter days, and even leave you with a subtle glow. It’s the perfect moisturizer to have on hand if you’re using any strong acne treatments, retinoids included.” What users are saying: People who are willing to pay the price all note just how powerful this formula is: “I have sensitive, dry, mature, autoimmune skin, and have tried more creams and spent more money than I care to count. Now I can stop counting. This cream is it for me! I began seeing results with two weeks, and my skin only continues to feel softer and look better with use. RUN, don’t walk, to get this cream and its incredible results.”  What mbg’s beauty director says:  I believe that the future of skin care and skin health lies in unlocking the secrets of the skin microbiome. I’m personally impressed by Symbiome’s incredible advancements in the field of biome-friendly skin care, both because I find the area interesting—and because the collection really works. I’ve been using this cream religiously for weeks now, and my skin looks fresher, isn’t as easily irritated, and is more hydrated. I try a lot of products, which has inevitably sensitized my skin over the years (cost of being a beauty reporter), and this is the only product that has even come close to giving me a genuine reset.  What mbg’s beauty editor says:  This thick, lavish cream has lots of fans, especially those who are dealing with inflammation as Schneider writes: “For those with chronically dry, inflammation-prone skin, allow us to introduce you to the joy of squalane. This fatty-acid-rich ingredient replenishes the moisture barrier, and its cousin, squalene, make up a significant portion of your skin already. This number from Biossance features hyaluronic acid and ceramides as well (compounds also naturally found in your skin already), so it’s like you’re feeding your skin exactly what it’s missing.” What mbg’s beauty director says:  I was sent the brand’s sensitive skin collection to test out a while back, and I immediately took it home to give it a go. (I have sensitive skin, so I am always looking for options to soothe inflammation.) The texture is thick but not sticky, and it leaves your skin feeling hydrated, plump, and calm. It wasn’t until later when I went to look up more information on the product that I realized it was only $25—I could have sworn it was at least double that.  What mbg’s assistant beauty editor says: Not only is this great for dull skin, but it can also help those with combination skin. As Frye wrote, “This moisturizer feels like a breath of fresh air—and it’s not just the aroma of citrus. The gel formula contains caffeine and ginseng to encourage a wide-awake look to the skin. Shea and jojoba butter work together to return moisture to the skin (and lock it in) without leaving behind a film. Plus, grapefruit and orange peel extracts help brighten the skin while also leaving behind a divine scent.” What mbg’s beauty editor says: The mbg beauty team are basically Indie Lee superfans at this point—and this face lotion is no exception to our fandom. As Schneider notes, “This face cream is literally a nutrient-dense smoothie in a bottle. It melts into my skin so effortlessly (the texture feels like silk), and all those antioxidants make my complexion instantly brighter.” What mbg’s beauty writer says: I’ve used this retinol collection to great success (and I have sensitive skin, so that’s saying something). Plus, other mbg beauty contributors are fans, too. As beauty reporter Emily Rekstis writes, “The embodiment of a retinol cream, this buttery moisturizer is formulated with hydrating antioxidants like centella asiatica alongside anti-aging powerhouses retinol and bakuchiol. Bakuchiol is often compared to retinol thanks to its similar abilities to fight acne, minimize wrinkles, and reduce photo-aging by targeting similar cellular pathways. However, bakuchiol is more tolerable and gentle, making it a great retinol alternative for people with sensitive skin. It also works great alongside retinol to help promote its skin care benefits without irritation. Thanks to this ingredient combo, this moisturizer will improve wrinkles, texture, and dullness, all without leaving skin greasy.” Our high standards also come from testing products—many, many products. Our editors and writers rigorously test and research the products featured in our roundups to offer you the best, most informed recommendations. When we write reviews, you can trust we spend quality time with the formulas: We don’t simply rave about products we’ve slathered on the back of our hand. We endorse products we’ve tried and loved. Learn more about our testing process and clean beauty standards here.

The 16 Best Face Creams For Every Skin Type - 77The 16 Best Face Creams For Every Skin Type - 29The 16 Best Face Creams For Every Skin Type - 77The 16 Best Face Creams For Every Skin Type - 70The 16 Best Face Creams For Every Skin Type - 88The 16 Best Face Creams For Every Skin Type - 98The 16 Best Face Creams For Every Skin Type - 3The 16 Best Face Creams For Every Skin Type - 78The 16 Best Face Creams For Every Skin Type - 59The 16 Best Face Creams For Every Skin Type - 41The 16 Best Face Creams For Every Skin Type - 17The 16 Best Face Creams For Every Skin Type - 49The 16 Best Face Creams For Every Skin Type - 65The 16 Best Face Creams For Every Skin Type - 18The 16 Best Face Creams For Every Skin Type - 41The 16 Best Face Creams For Every Skin Type - 86The 16 Best Face Creams For Every Skin Type - 44The 16 Best Face Creams For Every Skin Type - 73The 16 Best Face Creams For Every Skin Type - 39The 16 Best Face Creams For Every Skin Type - 70The 16 Best Face Creams For Every Skin Type - 8The 16 Best Face Creams For Every Skin Type - 16The 16 Best Face Creams For Every Skin Type - 3The 16 Best Face Creams For Every Skin Type - 55The 16 Best Face Creams For Every Skin Type - 19The 16 Best Face Creams For Every Skin Type - 31The 16 Best Face Creams For Every Skin Type - 19The 16 Best Face Creams For Every Skin Type - 22The 16 Best Face Creams For Every Skin Type - 33The 16 Best Face Creams For Every Skin Type - 12The 16 Best Face Creams For Every Skin Type - 31The 16 Best Face Creams For Every Skin Type - 2The 16 Best Face Creams For Every Skin Type - 86The 16 Best Face Creams For Every Skin Type - 13